Value Menu

No, this isn’t a rant about fast food restaurants  (although speaking of that, I was glancing at the “nutritional value” chart at one today and just about vomitted).

For the past couple of days, the word “Value” has been popping into my head.  Dictonary.com defines value as “relative worth, merit, or importance.” We tend to mostly think of value in terms of monetary worth, like when we get a great deal on a particular product or service.  But value can mean so much more than money.  Take the Weight Watchers program, for instance.  I am currently allotted 34 Points per day.  I can spend the Points however I choose, but the goal is to “spend” them as wisely as possible (get value for my food). Sure, I could eat 4-5 donuts a day and still be within my points, but I’d be horribly unhealthy and hungry all the time.  Healthier foods, like healthier spending, make lasting sense.

I began to wonder why this was coming to my mind so much.  I realised that there is a much deeper level to which “value” can be applied.  With all the talk of making life changes, starting new things, ending old things, etc. etc. etc., I see now that I have to make conscious choices every single day to accomplish those things.  And with each decision comes a certain cost.  Some costs will be minimal, others will be more “expensive.”  I guess I just need to figure out what is the best value, and run with it.

I read a quote today that spoke to me greatly about pressing on when the going gets tough or boring.

Having once decided to achieve a certain task, achieve it at all costs of tedium and distaste. The gain in self confidence of having accomplished a tiresome labor is immense.Thomas A Bennett

 

In other news, running training is going quite well.  I have been able to increase the incline on the treadmill without any issue, which makes it feel more like real running.  I even sped up for parts of my run today and shaved another few seconds off my 5k time.  Only NINE SLEEPS left until the Santa Shuffle.  If anyone would like to sponsor me, it’s not too late.  You can donate securely online by clicking:

https://www.runningroom.com/dashboard/donations/index.php?raceId=5682&eventId=18568&memberId=AGBSYQVjAWYAZQs4VmQ%3D&item=8&guest=1

 

~ by Kevin Wilson on November 24, 2010.

2 Responses to “Value Menu”

  1. Great Quote! LOVE it. It totally applies to us right now too!
    YAY for a chinook. now I can run the santa shuffle with you 😉 L. Because I was NOT running in -20!
    Can’t wait. I haven’t been running at all …so you may kick my butt (although i still am doing soccer) Anyways it will be fun regardless!

  2. This post made me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
