Wow, I hadn’t even noticed…

In preparation for moving (hopefully) soon, I have been cleaning up various locations.  My room in Medicine Hat, my room at camp, my car, etc. My camp room was the latest place to get my attention, and I came to an interesting realisation.

I own a CRAP LOAD of pain killers.  Not prescription ones or anything, just regular and extra-strength Aspirin, Tylenol, Advil, Motrin, etc etc etc.  Big bottles, little bottles.  I had a bottle or two everywhere… in my car, in my home, in my back pack, in my computer bag.  Then I realized…. I used to use a lot of painkillers.  It seemed I was always sore.  I always ached, sometimes my knees, sometimes my back.  Headaches were frequent.  But I haven’t needed them in months (other than the odd exercise-related injury!)!  I still get aches and pains, but nowhere near the intensity or frequency as before.  I guess that is what losing 90+ pounds can do – and all for the best, because taking painkillers daily can’t be good for the body.

~ by Kevin Wilson on November 27, 2010.

2 Responses to “Wow, I hadn’t even noticed…”

  1. No. When I went to that migraine information session they actually talked about how medication increases the frequency of headaches and a lot of the people who come in looking for relief…they first have to DETOX and get them off the drugs. Pretty crazy. That’s awesome that you’re body is feeling better. It should though when we treat it right! Keep up the great work. It can only increasingly get better! 🙂
    Now for my stupid knee to get better and not keep me up all night like last night 😦

  2. Tizzy loves this post 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
