Germs be gone!

After a few days of learning, theroizing and touring, I spent the entire day today working at an actual store.  Most customers were very pleasant, but this one guy was so rude it was hilarious, and will be the subject of today’s blog entry.

So Mr. Customer comes to the coutner with a bottle of pop.  He shows it to me, and I ask if I can have it to scan it.  (I can enter stuff manually, but it is time consuming to look things up, and really is unnecessary when you have the product right in front of you).  So he turns it to me and shows me the label (not the barcode).  I say, “yes I know what kind it is, but I need to scan the barcode.”  I take it from him, scan the barcode, and tell him the total price.  He hands me money, and with a look of disgust on his face says “well now you’re going to have to give me a paper towel.”  So while I am getting his change, the store manager who is training me give the man his paper towel.  Once he gets it, he proceeds to wipe every square milimetre of that bottle, all the while continuing with the look of disgust on his face.

So my question is this… why are you being so obsessive?  Are you really that concerned about germs, or was it a personal attack against me?  He didn’t wipe it off after he took it from the cooler, and for all he knows I could have been the one to stock the cooler.  Or what about other customers who may have touched that bottle and then decided they wanted something else, etc?  It just didn’t make any sense to me, and gave me something to chuckle about the rest of the day!

People will never, ever, ever, ever, EVER cease to amaze and amuse me.

And speaking of filth and germs… it has been years since I’ve ridden the subway here in Toronto. All I have to say is that I hope it’s many years before I have to ride it again.  FILTHY!  Absolutely filthy.  I’m no germophone or anything, but after leaving one subway car, all I could think about was getting to a bathroom to wash my hands (except not in a subway washroom, I didn’t even want to THINK about what those would look like!)

~ by Kevin Wilson on January 20, 2011.

2 Responses to “Germs be gone!”

  1. Oh man. People are so dumb …I wouldn’t take it personally he apparently has no brain cells. Like you said 8 bizillion people could have touched the same bottle before you….uh retard! Whatever. As for germs….ewww Note to self: don’t take the subway in Toronto. 🙂 I’m like you …no phobic or anything, but definitely get grossed out and need to wash my hands in situations like that. Come back to cleaner Calgary 🙂

  2. *no phobic = not phobic*

Leave a Reply

 
